NOW is all there ever is.

People don’t realize that now is all there ever is; there is no past or future except as memory or anticipation in your mind.  ~ Eckhart Tolle

So, a friend of my sister’s has learned this week that he has the same type of pancreatic tumor that Steve Jobs did, and it’s terminal.

Wouldn’t it be better to actually know that you have only a couple of years to live? I imagined being in his situation and immediately began to think of things I would definitely do – bucket-list type things – and other things I would definitely stop doing! Or at least do less of!

Does it take a death sentence to make us change thinking and behavior?

NOW is all there ever is.

NOW is rapidly becoming my primary ‘one word’ for this new year.

Oh sure, I did my goals list. I chose my 3 words. I wrote the ‘story’ behind my goals. I did the drill. Push. (Myself). Connect. (with others). Grow. (myself, and my business).

But to succeed, I will need to focus on those words and goals within the framework of my one word. Now.

I will push myself now. Today. It is the end of my workday now and I have done just that. Pushed through a difficult project today.

I will connect every day with some people. I have done so today, both personal and business contacts. Many of them.

I will grow. Every day. Today has presented two new problems for which I need to find system solutions.

Once again here is my favorite quote from Chris Brogan, the originator of the ‘3 Word Exercise’

Everything you will do in this year will come from what you do every day. Your year is made up of days.”

What do you think?

***

About Shari Risoff

Shari Risoff is an author, editor and consultant based in Raleigh, NC, USA. She studied business and spent years building client relationships in the corporate world and is passionate about communicating. She is the author of two books, Released: A True Story of Escape from an Abusive Marriage and Accidental Sabbatical. She began to consult and write full time during her own accidental sabbatical. She writes, and edits books for other authors, as well as helping small business owners with infrastructure or communication or projects of many kinds. She is devoted to her husband Stephen. When she is not working on her new book, or hanging out with Stephen, she is reading books or studying human behavior. Readers or writers in need of an editor can get in touch via email: projectmavens @ risoff.com or follow her on Twitter @ShariRisoff.
This entry was posted in Change, Consider, Quotes, Truth. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to NOW is all there ever is.

  1. I lost a friend in 2014 to pancreatic cancer. Once he was diagnosed, he went downhill rapidly. That doesn’t mean this quick descent happens to everyone. My very best wishes to your sister’s friend for a successful treatment.

    As to your question, “does it take a death sentence in order to make changes to our everyday ordinary lives?” Sad to say, I guess it does. We as busy, active people, zip through life as though we know where we’re going every minute of the day when that is rarely the case at all. We sometimes fail to connect with people in a personal way, choosing instead to do so through texts or emails. It’s a noble person who tries to change that behavior pattern.

    • Shari Risoff says:

      I’m sorry for your loss. I think you are right that we all need a wake up call of some sort to first think about the behavior and then work to change it. Thank you for sharing.

  2. mincs1 says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your sister’s friend. I can’t imagine how I would react receiving that kind of news. I like to think that I would live my final days to the fullest but I don’t know…
    I like your Chris Brogan quote. I do believe that what we do each day will create the world we want to be a part of… that almost sounds esoteric but I think you know what I mean. Thanks for posting a thought provoking post!

    • Shari Risoff says:

      “…what we do each day will create the world we want to be a part of…” Yes. That’s exactly right. Now just to think about that every day is my challenge. Thank you.

  3. Sandy Bruney says:

    I had a dear friend recently pass from pancreatic cancer. He kept his faith to the end and was an inspiration to everyone who knew him. That’s how I’d want to be.

    • Shari Risoff says:

      Hi Sandy! I agree totally! Last week I lost a friend to brain cancer, and in the days of pensive writing and reading that followed, I read your book Angels Unaware just yesterday. It was great to escape into a fiction world and an inspiration for the very non-fiction realities of cancer. Thank you for that. And thank you for sharing here.

Leave a Reply

