Five-Minute Friday: Whisper

I don’t want to whisper today. I want to scream. There is no one here to hear me either way, so it wouldn’t really matter. But the person I talk to on these quiet alone days is God, and I could calmly and sweetly whisper my prayer, but I don’t want to. I want to scream it!

Hello God… 

Are you up there?

Are you listening?

Why aren’t you helping me?

Why are all these problems still unsolved?

Why, why, why.

 

Maybe if I would be quiet, I would hear Him whisper… maybe something like this.

 

Yes, Shari, I’m here.

Yes, I’m listening.

I really am helping you even if you don’t see it yet.

Unsolved? Maybe they’re not going to be solved. Anytime soon anyway.

Maybe those problems are to get you to turn to me because you know in your heart and soul that I’ve got it, and that I’ll solve them all in my time. You know I could do it now, in a heartbeat, if that’s how I had it planned.

You won’t know all the whys until we meet face to face.

And even as I write that, I know I don’t need to stress. I know that I am just to show up and do what He’s given me to do every day. And He will handle the rest.

#

Kate Motaung is the amazing host of the Five-Minute Friday community.

Join us here for the #FMFparty

 

About Shari Risoff

Shari Risoff is an author, editor and consultant based in Raleigh, NC, USA. She studied business and spent years building client relationships in the corporate world and is passionate about communicating. She is the author of two books, Released: A True Story of Escape from an Abusive Marriage and Accidental Sabbatical. She began to consult and write full time during her own accidental sabbatical. She writes, and edits books for other authors, as well as helping small business owners with infrastructure or communication or projects of many kinds. She is devoted to her husband Stephen. When she is not working on her new book, or hanging out with Stephen, she is reading books or studying human behavior. Readers or writers in need of an editor can get in touch via email: projectmavens @ risoff.com or follow her on Twitter @ShariRisoff.
This entry was posted in 5 Minute Friday, Change, Consider, Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Five-Minute Friday: Whisper

  1. The Beard says:

    Amen. The crowding of thoughts and worries can drown out the slightest whisper from our savior. Faith comes with a still soft peace that passes all understanding. Great post.

  2. Shari Risoff says:

    Thanks so much for your kind words. You are absolutely right that we have to listen for the whisper and push away the worry.

  3. helldoesntownme says:

    Trusting God to love and care for us even when the problems remain unresolved is terrifyingly necessary. Thank you for for the reminder that we won’t have all the answers, at least not this side of heaven and that that is a good thing when it pulls us closer to Christ.

    Visiting from Five Minute Friday,

    Drusilla Barron (http://lovedasif.com)

  4. 9jaime says:

    Hope you are feeling better soon, especially after writing it all down. I like to yell Psalm 13 at God every now and then. I’m sure he thinks I’m half crazy, but He loves me. Blessings to you!

  5. Colline says:

    Sometimes we are shouting so loudly, we don’t hear what it is that God is telling us.

Leave a Reply

