Five Minute Friday: Change

The future is not some place we are going to, but one we are creating.
The paths are not to be found, but made, and the activity of making them
changes both the maker and the destinations.

~ John Schaar

 

I tend to collect quotes on the subject of change. One of my favorite books is Change Agent by Os Hillman. I studied Organizational Development. I love change. OK, I really don’t like to experience change that I did not choose, but I am good at walking through the change process, always with hope that the new destination, or new process, or new anything will be an improvement over the old.

 

The greener grass theory? Maybe in some ways. Eternal optimist? Probably. After relocating so many times in my life, I learned early on that I would find both joy and loss in change. A second chance. A new landscape, be it house, or school or job.

 

Early on I was surprised when the same problems or the same problem people showed up in that new world. Because the destination may have changed, but I had not.

 

The future is definitely something we have the ability to create and when we forge through and make a new path, the process changes us.

 #

 

Kate Motaung is the amazing host of the Five-Minute Friday community.

Join us here for the #FMFparty

 

About Shari Risoff

Shari Risoff is an author, editor and consultant based in Raleigh, NC, USA. She studied business and spent years building client relationships in the corporate world and is passionate about communicating. She is the author of two books, Released: A True Story of Escape from an Abusive Marriage and Accidental Sabbatical. She began to consult and write full time during her own accidental sabbatical. She writes, and edits books for other authors, as well as helping small business owners with infrastructure or communication or projects of many kinds. She is devoted to her husband Stephen. When she is not working on her new book, or hanging out with Stephen, she is reading books or studying human behavior. Readers or writers in need of an editor can get in touch via email: projectmavens @ risoff.com or follow her on Twitter @ShariRisoff.
This entry was posted in 5 Minute Friday, Change, Consider, Hope, NC Normal, Quotes. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Five Minute Friday: Change

  1. Arlene Anderson says:

    This is really good! Have you ever thought about collecting all of these into a devotional book? You could add a verse or passage for each day and expand it to fill one page I think it would be dynamite.

    Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE smartphone

  2. Love this. Definitely agree, I’m always excited for the future and a bit surprised when it presents the same difficulties as the past or at least difficulties that match the previous ones. I agree, that we can create our paths, or at least the attitude we have when traveling down them.

    Love your reflections here. Hopping over from the #fmf party!

  3. Shari Risoff says:

    Thanks Paula! So true that we can at least create our attitude, even if it’s a path we don’t like or didn’t choose! Thanks for hopping over. 🙂

  4. You wrote: “I really don’t like to experience change that I did not choose, but I am good at walking through the change process, always with hope that the new destination, or new process, or new anything will be an improvement over the old.”

    Yes, yes, YES! 🙂 I may grumble when I’m forced on a path, but I will take it, and once moving, the optimism and excitement for a new adventure generally takes hold.

    Happy Friday,
    Melissa
    http://www.measi.net/measiblog/

  5. Colline says:

    I like the quote you started your post off with. And what you say is so true – the place may have changed but the type of people do no not. It is almost as if we have to learn to deal with these personalities.
    (visiting from FMF)

Leave a Reply

