5 Minute Friday: Loss

We lost our jobs. That means we lost our paychecks.

Some have subsequently lost houses, lost sanity, lost freedoms.

To stay afloat, we have lost privileges that we might have thought were rights. Luxuries too easily defined as ‘needs’ when we don’t have to think about giving something up to pay for it.

Those losses all hurt.

Opportunity cost it’s called. Example? To have the opportunity to send sympathy flowers to a friend who lost his wife, means we give something up. Groceries? The rare dinner out?

But with loss can also come gain – or a positive loss, shall we say.

Loss of stress. Loss of angst over corporate politics.

Loss of time-saving surcharges.

Loss of worry over when to fit ‘life’ into work life, how to find what is laughingly called ‘work-life balance’.

Loss of stress cannot be measured in terms of dollars.

Sometimes a loss is actually a positive.

What have you thought of as a loss that you can turn into a positive?

***

I link up with Lisa-Jo Baker every Friday and we write intensely for 5 minutes. Find us/Join us here: Five Minute Friday.

#FMFparty

About Shari Risoff

Shari Risoff is an author, editor and consultant based in Raleigh, NC, USA. She studied business and spent years building client relationships in the corporate world and is passionate about communicating. She is the author of two books, Released: A True Story of Escape from an Abusive Marriage and Accidental Sabbatical. She began to consult and write full time during her own accidental sabbatical. She writes, and edits books for other authors, as well as helping small business owners with infrastructure or communication or projects of many kinds. She is devoted to her husband Stephen. When she is not working on her new book, or hanging out with Stephen, she is reading books or studying human behavior. Readers or writers in need of an editor can get in touch via email: projectmavens @ risoff.com or follow her on Twitter @ShariRisoff.
This entry was posted in 5 Minute Friday, Consider, Faith, Hope and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 5 Minute Friday: Loss

  1. hannahjiejie says:

    Hm, something to ponder… thank you!

  2. Shari Risoff says:

    Thank you for stopping by.

  3. I quit the security of a normal job to work nights and big gain as I get to spend all day with my son and it made me start to write which led to my blog and now feel free and gained back a big part of myself. You’re right loss can be a big positive. Also I now get to read great things that I would have never knew existed like your blog. Ommm and peace from the Temple. 🙂

  4. revskid says:

    You make some excellent points. I’m thinking ahead to the end of next year when I retire. My income will then be cut to a third of what I’m used to getting in a paycheck (I’m a teacher who has state retirement funds). But I’ve weighed it against what I’m gaining. Me back. More time with the grandkids. Time to scrapbook and just do art again. Try new recipes. Bake again instead of stopping by the bakery. Read—oh my, read when I want for a long time if I want. I will be getting a chance to be artistic before the arthritis does more crippling to my hands. What’s the sense in four more years of making money, when the cost is use of my hands? There is no sense in it.
    Great post! :>)

    • Shari Risoff says:

      Thank you! During this Accidental Sabbatical of mine, I didn’t intend to retire, and I hope I haven’t yet. 🙂 But all that you will gain in your retirement sounds outstanding! I have definitely been catching up on reading and cooking (had to stop baking so much!). As I said in my book, I definitely have focused on the positive on this journey and it has made ALL the difference in the world! Thanks for your comments. Do you have a blog?

Leave a Reply

