Themes in the puzzle.

The cover seems to be pulling back and I am beginning to see what is beneath it. Even as I see the themes revealing themselves, the picture is becoming clear, like a jigsaw puzzle where finally some of the pieces fit together.

This week the themes have included better health; new people, potential friends, colleagues or clients. Then a friend invested an afternoon over coffee, to tell me how I had also written her story in my book and that she had felt release with it.

Stakeholder Theory and Conscious Capitalism, being taught in the New Models of Business in Society class (on Coursera.org) where Dr. Freeman assures us that companies care about ‘purpose, not profits’. Next week he has asked us to think about how we could implement these ideals by starting a company or as employees.

Simultaneously, in my other Coursera class, Irrational Behavior, Dr. Ariely teaches this week that everyone lies. Everyone. And that we make our decisions based on emotion, whether or not we realize it. But that with this knowledge, we can improve our decision-making and better assess risk.

All week I have been pondering on Jodie Llewellyn’s blog on Building a Writer’s Platform as I have been trying to figure out my platform for weeks now. In the same way that Dr. Freeman teaches to drill down to your business purpose, my writing is my business now, and my purpose is the same as it was in the corporate world. To help people and solve problems.

In business, while managing customer relationships, I helped people solve problems, and find solutions.

Now as I write, in my first book, Released, my prayer is that I help women or men who are in abusive relationships to find answers and hope and release.

My new book-in-progress, Accidental Sabbatical, provides hope, help, resources, for men and women, seeking to survive and thrive while unemployed.

For many years now at the end of each Friday, I have emailed my boss with the week’s activity and my numbers. It was always about the numbers. So as the boss of me now, here is my report to me at the end of this week.

The pieces are coming together. Purpose. Platform. Problem-solving. Providing Solutions, Producing Results.

About Shari Risoff

Shari Risoff is an author, editor and consultant based in Raleigh, NC, USA. She studied business and spent years building client relationships in the corporate world and is passionate about communicating. She is the author of two books, Released: A True Story of Escape from an Abusive Marriage and Accidental Sabbatical. She began to consult and write full time during her own accidental sabbatical. She writes, and edits books for other authors, as well as helping small business owners with infrastructure or communication or projects of many kinds. She is devoted to her husband Stephen. When she is not working on her new book, or hanging out with Stephen, she is reading books or studying human behavior. Readers or writers in need of an editor can get in touch via email: projectmavens @ risoff.com or follow her on Twitter @ShariRisoff.
This entry was posted in Consider, Creative, Faith, NC Normal, Released and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Themes in the puzzle.

  1. Mariam Tsaturyan says:

    I am glad you are writing about abusive relationships and how to get out of them. Someone extremely close to me was in an abusive relationship, and no matter how much support she had, she was not able or willing to leave it behind.

    • Shari Risoff says:

      Thank you Mariam. Abuse is definitely not an easy subject, but I hope that by putting my story out there, maybe another woman will believe it is possible to get out and take action. I hope that your friend will at some point be able to do it. Thank you for following my blog.

  2. Mariam Tsaturyan says:

    Hello! I became a fan of your blog, and nominated you to receive Liebster Award. The link is on my page if you are interested in participating. All the best to you! http://myauthorwithin.wordpress.com.

  3. jodiellewellyn says:

    Thanks for the shout out 🙂

  4. Shari Risoff says:

    You are welcome Jodie! Thank you for the constant encouragement for writers on your blog!

  5. revgerry says:

    How nice to find your blog. I love to meet other writers. I am new at the “writing as a business” part of it, and at 72, don’t have time for an extended learning curve. i am writing a book on overcoming deep depression. I love the idea for your book, wish you best of luck with it.

  6. Shari Risoff says:

    Thank you for stopping by and following. I will be watching for your book!

  7. jguenther5 says:

    Domestic violence is one of the motifs in my MG novel. It’s a scary situation and very damaging for boys and girls to experience up close. It tends to escalate and sometimes turns deadly in a short period of time. I sat on a panel last year where a stupid FB post resulted in death within 12 hours.

  8. srha1987 says:

    I wish you much success on your writing, especially with your second book. So many people are suffering in this economy. My husband and I were unemployed for extended periods since 2010. This is a book that is needed. Good luck, Shari!

  9. Shari Risoff says:

    Thank you so much! I appreciate the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

