Released is born!

Released is born!

The manuscript that I have been writing and rewriting for nearly 21 years now is finally published. It is available now on Amazon in Kindle* format and the paperback version will be up there in a few days. (I was going to wait until they were both up to write this, but my husband Stephen pre-empted me on Facebook).

When I was 18 and a freshman in college, I told one of my writing professors that I was going to write a book and he laughed and said “18 year olds don’t have anything to say yet.” It felt as though he had slapped me in the face, however if his intention was to give me an impelling reason to finish the book, it worked.

And although I was certain at 18 I had a lot to say, it took me until now to get the guts to stand ‘naked’ in front of the world with this story.

This is my true story of escape from an abusive marriage… an intensely personal story of God’s mercy and grace as He brought beauty out of ashes in my life. It is my desire to help at least one person who is caught in the cycle of verbal, mental or physical abuse to see a light and a way out.

Although this quote was not written about my particular story, I feel like it was:

Here’s what’s surprising about making sense of your life in God’s story:  the story is not about you—it’s about Him. He is both the author and the main character, and He has written you into His story to say something about Him.”

~ Mike Wilkerson in Redemption

Everything that I am now is because of the Almighty God and his grace in my life. I pray that He uses this story for His glory.

Shari

PS I’d be thrilled if you would buy the book, and if you do, honored if you would write a review on Amazon to help increase the visibility of the book so that others who need its message will find it.

*If you do not own a Kindle (and I do not yet), they offer free Kindle apps for PC, tablets or Smartphones.

About Shari Risoff

Shari Risoff is an author, editor and consultant based in Raleigh, NC, USA. She studied business and spent years building client relationships in the corporate world and is passionate about communicating. She is the author of two books, Released: A True Story of Escape from an Abusive Marriage and Accidental Sabbatical. She began to consult and write full time during her own accidental sabbatical. She writes, and edits books for other authors, as well as helping small business owners with infrastructure or communication or projects of many kinds. She is devoted to her husband Stephen. When she is not working on her new book, or hanging out with Stephen, she is reading books or studying human behavior. Readers or writers in need of an editor can get in touch via email: projectmavens @ risoff.com or follow her on Twitter @ShariRisoff.
This entry was posted in Creative, Faith, NC Normal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

